Why am I glad that the IPL is over

My brother in law asked me whom I would support in a Mumbai vs kolkata match and I automatically said mumbai. After the phone call, I wondered why I said mumbai. Honestly, I don’t even know who is the mumbai team now. And it is so frivolous to like a team or not like one just because of our birth in that particular place, country, religion or ideas or so many other things. It feels like liking just one and only one part of the body.

I used to like Sachin and Rahul Dravid a little in my college days and now, last I heard, sachin retired. And it isn’t that I know the run rates, the records or whatever, it is just that my dad liked sachin and maybe that’s why I liked him too.

So, about IPL, I think it is a perfect example of what is wrong with the world today.
It symbolizes our reduced span of attention, superfluous waste of money, useless and misplaced use of energy and passion in youth and the absolutely useless, unnecessary excitement in the form of cheer leaders and the unnecessary fireworks and oh so many things KKR has golden leg pads… gosh and punjab has silver. How silly

My cousin told me that he hasn’t seen surya udayam in a long time. I asked him why, appraisal toh khatam ho gaye.. he said I am mad. It is becauae of Ipl. I had no clue it was on. Grrr.

So, what will I not miss about the IPL

1 The weird pronunciation of foreign commentators.
2 Girls screaming when they realize they are on tv.
3 Amusing dances when boys realize they are on tv.
4 Unnecessary and almost fake noise and excitement.
5 A better health

I welcome back peace and early bed sleep in my life.

 

PS – It doesn’t end with the match, there is an award ceremony that needs to be seen to 😦

2 thoughts on “Why am I glad that the IPL is over

  1. Frankly speaking it is a big relief from the IPL. So many man hours are lost unneccessary and what a waste of time, money and energy just to entertain public which match results are already fixed in advance. There is so much controversy behind match fixing, the less said the better. Even we citizens are part of hungama b’cos we give much importance to it. Sorry for my strong words.

Pls Leave a Reply