Are you afraid of the dark?

I recently read “Autobiography of a Yogi” and .. not surprised at the saints and their powers possible but sometimes I crave for miracles. I shouldn’t be greedy but I do crave for them.

And then, something happened. I was in the living room at night. After 14 months of cribbing that I haven’t slept a whole night, my hubby thought I should sleep in the living room and he will try to pat or console my munchkin back to sleep.

So, here I was on the couch… Must tell you that we have a balcony with glass windows and it overlooks a golf course. All we see from the balcony are trees (and deers…I know, it’s very beautiful but that isn’t the point of the story) and in the night, it can be scary..especially if you are afraid of the dark. I am not saying that I am. I am grown up now so I shouldn’t be. Also, I am a mom now. I am not scared of the dark. Really. So Anyway, I was lying on the couch. After my prayers, I kept my head on the soft pillow and what do I see? The trees are swaying. I knew that rain was in forecast so it must be the breeze. Some loud strong breeze. I shut my eyes and tried to sleep. I heard a little bit of ooooing of the breeze. The temperature is single digit at night so all the windows are tightly shut, There is no scope of any noise. I opened my eyes. The trees still swaying and… all of a sudden, I see some form of light increasing and decreasing. This is in the window close to the kitchen. There isn’t any street light that side but I couldn’t see that far and that too without specs in the dark toh I am as good as blind. I saw the flickering light which was not supposed to actually be there and … I got a little bit scared. I closed my eyes shut and wasn’t sure what to make of all this. I couldn’t go disturb my baby or hubby but there was a light where there isn’t supposed to be any. Was it a spaceship? Am not sure. Was it God. I wasn’t sure I wanted to open my eyes to see it.  After keeping my eyes shut for a minute and calming down, a thought came to me. Wasn’t I the one craving to meet God? What if it really is God or some saint or …? Why am I afraid? What am I afraid of? Would you have been afraid?

Does he come to people who are scared of him? Maybe he came and I was so scared that I didn’t open my eyes. Will he still come? Just confused.

This was like a refreshers course on a lesson I already know. (https://mannkiwindow.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/wishes-can-come-true/) Be careful what you ask for. What would you have done?

Are you ready to meet God if he comes?

PS – Dear God, next time you come, please leave the thunder and noises behind. Please. I am not scared but please.

4 thoughts on “Are you afraid of the dark?

  1. Hahaha this was fuuny, the way you kept emphasizing that you are not afraid of the dark. But a deeply philosophical one if you come to think of it :). As always, well written!

  2. It was really a thriller as written by you in deep letters with suspense till the end. Maybe God was present but really difficult to estimate as He is always omnipresent irrespective of whether we are able to feel His presence or not.

Pls Leave a Reply

